Five Quick Questions: Kate from Meadowlark ahead of Record Factory show

Since the release of their debut album Postcards back in June, Meadowlark have had a busy summer of UK festivals and also teamed up with producer EMBRZ on his recent single Heartlines. Welsh singer Kate McGill teamed up with Daniel Broadley and the Bristol-based band are currently out on a UK tour. Meadowlark arrive in Glasgowo on 6th October for a gig at Record Factory.

We caught up with Kate to ask Five Quick Questions

1. What was the inspiration for your latest single Sunlight?

We wrote Sunlight about a forbidden sort of love. I’ve definitely been in relationships that I’ve known with all my heart are awful for me and’ll only make things worse – but sometimes your body takes over. Love makes you do some weird shit.

2. How did you both begin working on music together?

Before Meadowlark, I was a solo artist and Dan was a music video director! He actually directed my second music video back in the day. We became really good friends and soon after that realised that writing music together was an absolute joy!

3. Do you both have a similar attitude towards performing?

We do! Touring is one of our favourite things to do – but performing is a different kettle of fish. And we’re both not naturally massive performers, but being able to sing and play our own songs in front of crowds that have paid to see us is an incredible feeling – so we hope that the love of those moments really comes across to our fans.

4. You performed at festivals this summer, what was your experience like?

It’s been amazing to travel around the whole country and play stages at festivals we’ve never even been to! So many people find out about us through those kind of things so it’s been a really rewarding experience. Bring on next year!

5. What can we expect from your set at the Record Factory in Glasgow?

You can expect a lot of lights, a lot of melancholy electronic pop music (obviously) and a lot of lame jokes. Mainly from Dan.

MEADOWLARK UK TOUR DATES

Fri 29 Sep – The Hope and Ruin, Brighton
Sat 30 Sep – Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham
Sun 1 Oct – The Wardrobe, Leeds
Wed 4 Oct – The Shed, Leicester
Fri 6 Oct – Record Factory, Glasgow
Sat 7 Oct – The Cluny 2, Newcastle
Sun 8 Oct – The Rocking Chair, Sheffield
Mon 9 Oct – Fibbers, York
Tue 10 Oct – The Moon, Cardiff
Wed 11 Oct – The Junction, Plymouth
Thu 12 Oct – Talking Heads, Southampton
Fri 13 Oct – Louisiana, Bristol
Fri 1 Dec – London, The Islington
Sat 2 Dec – Norwich, Owl Sanctuary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *