Mogwai announce winter tour and first feature film soundtrack album

Mogwai (pic: Anthony Crook)
Mogwai (pic: Anthony Crook)

Mogwai today announce a new five-date UK winter tour, kicking off at the Liverpool Olympia and culminating with a night at St David’s Hall in Cardiff. The announcement follows Mogwai’s headline slot on the BBC Music stage at Latitude Festival, and the news that the band have created their first feature film soundtrack for the forthcoming sci-fi and crime drama, Kin. Directed by Jonathan and Josh Baker, Kin stars Jack Reynor, Zoë Kravitz, Carrie Coon, James Franco and Dennis Quaid.

They will be supported on tour by Glasgow’s The Twilight Sad, who recently signed to Mogwai’s own label Rock Action. Tickets go on sale Friday 20th July at 10am; full list of dates below. Tickets for all dates will be available here.

It’s been a huge few months for the band, with the release of their highest charting album to date in Every Country’s Sun, as well as their biggest ever headline show to date, last December at Glasgow’s SSE Hydro Arena.

Mogwai have already played at this year’s Primavera Sound in Barcelona, as well as at London’s Royal Festival Hall, as part of Robert Smith’s Meltdown Festival.

Later this summer, Mogwai will play two shows at Edinburgh’s EIF-Leith Theatre on 22nd and 23rd August as part of Light On The Shore.

Mogwai’s Kin: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack will be available August 31st via Rock Action and is available to pre-order now.

Mogwai Tour Dates

Fri Jul 20 Les Vieilles Charrues Festival, Carhaix, FRANCE
Fri Jul 27 Artmania Festival, Sibiu, ROMANIA
Fri Aug 3 All Together Now Festival, Waterford, IRELAND
Sat Aug 18 Pstereo, Trondheim, NORWAY
Wed 22 Aug EIF-Leith Theatre, Edinburgh, UK
Thu 23 Aug EIF-Leith Theatre, Edinburgh, UK
Sat 22 Sept True North Festival, His Majesty’s Theatre, Aberdeen, UK
Thu 22 Nov Liverpool Olympia, Liverpool, UK
Fri 23 Nov The Mill, Birmingham, UK
Sat 24 Nov O2 Academy Leeds, Leeds, UK
Sun 25 Nov Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
Mon 26 Nov St David’s Hall, Cardiff, UK