Talk of the Town: Travis are back with ninth studio album

Travis are back with new music from their emotionally charged forthcoming ninth studio album 10 Songs’, set to be released on 9th October.

A Ghost arrives with an animated video directed and drawn by frontman Fran Healy, with his son Clay leading the cinematography work – all put together whilst in lockdown. 

Fran explains: “The video started out as a mocked up picture of me and three ghosts playing the last chorus of the song in a deserted alleyway. Just when everything was ready to shoot, the world went into lockdown, so we had this great song with no way to make a video, so I decided to draw it. 

“It worked out that it would take around 30 days, with 2,500 drawings. Most of the animation is rotoscoped, and one day I was watching a sequence back and when it got to the end, it flashed and went into live action.

“This was the moment I realised I could shoot the mock up picture of me playing with my band of ghosts in the alleyway.

“It was clear that filming the last 47 seconds would save me 10 days of drawing, I could recruit my 14 year old son Clay as the cameraman as he has a drone, and most importantly, we could film it socially distant.

“It was the most bizarre video shoot I have ever worked on, but it turned out great.”

Co-produced by both Fran and Robin Baynton (Coldplay, Florence & The Machine), and recorded at RAK Studios as 2019 turned into 2020, ’10 Songs’ is an album about “the way life comes at love and what love does to weather those challenges”.

There’s cameos to be found, including synth work from Grandaddy’s Jason Lytle, lap steel from Greg Leisz (Beck, Emmylou Harris, Bruce Springsteen) and vocals from Susanna Hoffs of The Bangles that came about from a chance exchange on Twitter.

It’s been twenty-five years since the four members of Travis – Fran Healy, AndyDunlop, Dougie Payne, Neil Primrose – first set foot in a Glasgow rehearsal room.

After selling millions of records, Fran sums up their body of work saying; “There’s a song on the record called ‘Butterflies’. And that’s really how I think about songwriting. These things are floating around. And you have to be very quiet, and be very quick, and be very respectful. You catch them, you look at them for a little while, and then you set them free again. And that’s the whole point of songs. That’s the point of songwriting.”

‘10 Songs’– Track Listing

  1. Waving At The Window
  2. The Only Thing (feat. Susanna Hoffs) 
  3. Valentine
  4. Butterflies
  5. A Million Hearts
  6. A Ghost
  7. All Fall Down
  8. Kissing In The Wind
  9. Nina’s Song
  10. No Love Lost

‘10 Songs’ comes available as Standard CD, Heavyweight vinyl plus Deluxe 2CD and Deluxe 2LP (red and blue vinyl) including 10 Demos.  The band’s official store features exclusive merch bundles, Cassette and highly limited edition signed TPs. Pre-Order 10 Songs HERE.